Italia’90 Group A

#Italy

I was 10. I fell in love with the way they played.
Zenga the goalie – permanently chewing the gum. And his golden chain around the neck. Today, probably illegal for his ‘security’ and ‘safety’.
Paolo Maldini, Franco Baresi – believe me or not, but the following day when I went out to kick the ball around with my friends, I pretended I was one of them. Didn’t want to be Lineker or van Basten. I wanted to defend.
Roberto Donadoni, Viali (still with hair), de Napoli, Ancelotti  and Agostini  -still remember the commentator saying their names as if they were football gods.
And ‘Toto’ Schillaci – the joker who become the top goal scorer.

DSC_1123
#Zenga #Maldini #Baresi #Lineker #vanBasten #Donadoni #Viali #deNapoli #Ancelotti #Agostini #Toto #Schillaci #Italia90 #italia #1990 #retro #vintage #retrofootball #vintagefootball #footballispassion #casulas

#Czechoslovakia

Envied them (I know envy is not a good feeling) the national team. We were neighbours, and I missed the golden era of Polish football.
Love their #hairdo. So #1990’s.

DSC_1120
#Polska #Poland #Czechrepublic #Slovakia

#Austria

The only Austrian players I remember are Herzog (because of his magnificent career in Werder Bremen amd Bayern Munich), Toni ‘Superstar’ Polster (FC Koln) and their goalie – Lindenberger (dont’t ask me why – maybe because I always had a liking for goalies).
The real star to me are their #kits.

DSC_1121
#Herzog #Werder #Bremen #Bayern #Munich #superstar #Polster #Koln #Lingenberger #Goalie #goalkeeper

And #USA

I was 10 and I didn’t even know that Americans had their ‘soccer’ national team.

Learnt more about their football 4 years later when they hosted another magical World Cup.

DSC_1122
#Americans #soccer #football #1994 #WorldCup

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

